Movie Review: Pirates of the Carribean III

December 14, 2007 at 3:22 pm (Movie Reviews)

On Saturday night, after a long day traversing the greater downtown Auburn area to do our own comps assessment, Tom and I sat down to watch the third installment of the Pirates movie. I had finished making a huge batch of biscotti so we were fortified. The lights of the tree were glowing in the most festive manner. In fact, I even turned out the light and didn’t cross-stitch. Christmas is about the only time I’m not multi-tasking during movies because there is something so comfy about curling up with Tom and watching a movie with the glow of the tree behind us.

Where was I? Oh, right, the movie. The above paragraph might just be more entertaining than the movie. And that’s not saying much. Could I ask Netflix for my 3 hours back? Seriously, the movie was almost three hours and it was horrible!

There was to much. Too many plot devices that didn’t add anything and didn’t go anywhere. Did a whole character have to be created only to supply a bad storm? I couldn’t understand a word anyone was saying, and it wasn’t because of the accents. And, for the love of all that’s holy, why did it take nearly 45 minutes for Johnny Depp to make an appearance?

I gave the second film a pass because I understood that as the middle movie, it was incapable of providing a satisfying resolution. In a way, I put my opinion of the movie on hold – or at least I qualified it with a “for a second of three movies”. But now? Now I have to downgrade the second movie also. The second one barely built up to the third and the third failed to deliver on all fronts.

The first movie was great. Neither the second or third added anything positive to the franchise. If you need a Pirates fix – watch the original again. Otherwise, save yourself.

But the biscotti were excellent.

Leave a Reply

