Ramblings about Nothing – Another long post from a lonely hotel room

March 29, 2008 at 6:52 pm (Pre-Move Updates) (, )

Yep, I have a bit of jet lag.  I guess it makes sense.  Last night I was up until 1 a.m., and you all know how unusual that is for me.  We slept until 9:30 CST time too.  Well, actually, I got up at 5:30 to do something to the dogs.

You know how Lola does that annoying growl thing?  The one that after a while can make you want to bash her tiny skull in?  Well, hotels are a real problem for her.  She can hear people coming and going and she feels the need to do a premtptive growl – at all hours.  The hotel we were at last night had a bunch of trucker-types and they were all leaving at 5:30 in the morning, so naturally, Lola had to send them off right.  I did what any sane person would do – no, I didn’t put her back in the truck – I locked her and Spice, in their kennel, in the bathroom and shut the door.  That seemed to solve the problem.  I guess she’s like a bird – if you throw her into complete darkness she can relax.  And you would think that she would be exhausted from constantly being on alert.  Anyway, tonight and for the rest of the trip she may be sleeping in the bathroom.  And she should be darn thankful she’s not sleeping in the car.

Speaking of sleeping, do you know what has become the bane of my existence?  Tom’s CrackBerry.  I would like to talk to those CrackBerry makers or find a support group online.  Sleepless Wives of CrackBerry Users Anonymous.  I have no problem with Tom checking his email during TV commercials, using the internet in the car to look up directions, or carrying it about with the same reverance I show my Burt’s Bees.  No, the problem I have is specifically with the use of that damn clicky wheel in my bed.

Some time ago, I banished the TV from the bedroom because it prolonged the timeframe in which I could fall asleep.  Now I am considering a ban on the CrackBerry.  Tom charges it on his nightstand and in the morning when he wakes up, the first thing he reaches for is the CrackBerry so he can scroll through his messages using that damn clicky wheel.

Somewhere along the line, I became a light sleeper, particularly with someone else in the bed.  If Tom can’t fall asleep, I am kept awake by his “awake breathing”.  Likewise in the morning, his breathing changes and the associated noises usually wake me up – unless he gets up and leaves the room.  Before the CrackBerry (BCB), he would do just that, wake up and then go check email on his laptop at the other end of the house.  It worked out well for me, I would wake up momentarily but then be able to go back to sleep.  Now however, he can stay in bed and click his way through his email without getting up.  For some reason, being woken up by that damn clicky wheels annoys me to no end.  I don’t know why I’m so sensitive to it.  I would give anything to be able to sleep through all his morning routine stuff, this in particular.  It’s not especially loud or abrasive, but it performs the same way a non-conventional alarm clock does.  “Wake up, Elizabeth, wake up.  Wake.  Click.  Up.  Click.  Wake.  Click.  Up.  Click”.  But unlike an alarm clock, I cannot reach over and throw it, or its user, across the room.

Given the ability to wake up on my own schedule on the weekends, coming around to my own body’s rhythms, is a lovely thing and I wake up in a great mood.  I know it won’t last – eventually I will be woken up by some child demanding food at ungodly hours.  And I can’t complain too much about my ability to wake up at the faintest noise – I will be the only one to hear the baby fart before an explosive midnight diaper dump.  I can also wake up in a reasonably tolerant mood when the alarm goes off at 5:15 in the morning.  But being woken up, on my days off, earlier than I had planned and before my body was willing, by a CRACKBERRY, is really starting to get to me.

Thank you.  The rant portion of this post is over.  For now.

On a completely unrelated topic, we are in Eagan tonight and have moved into the extended stay suite for the next few days.  It’s going to be nice to be in one place for a few days.  Consequently, I brought the plants inside.  Do you know what they don’t have in Minnesota, besides Teriyaki?   Bamboo plants.  It don’t get this cold in Vietnam.  Take a look at our poor bamboo plants.  I’m hoping they will come back, but all I have to base this hope on is the inability to kill the bamboo at our place in Enumclaw.  We’ve had these for nearly 6 years, it would be sad if they died.  The Aloe Vera plant seems to be doing better, although a few of the lower shoots may need to be amputated.

009.jpg

010.jpg

 

Don’t know what tomorrow holds.  We need to get some sleep and relax, and they have an actual breakfast buffet here, not a continental breakfast, so hopefully I can drag myself out there before 10:30.  It all depends on when the CrackBerry Alarm goes off.  We’re across the street from a movie theatre, so maybe we’ll check that out.  We’ll probably go look at paint samples and a new front door, as Tom reminded me that we should have the new door in place before they set up the Fort Knox Alarm System.  (If Tom lived in medieval times and had a castle, he would have the moat, the tar, the rocks, the flaming arrows, and just in case all that failed, a dragon backed up by a giant troll.  I talked him out of setting a motion sensor for the entire garage.  He compromised by just putting an alarm on the garage door for the Chevelle Bay.)

As for the food options, we’ve been eating fairly good.  I’ve been wearing sweatpants while driving though, so it’s difficult to tell if one is over eating when one has an elastic waistband on.  Tom asked what I felt like for dinner and I told him a bowl of clam chowder and some garlic bread.  He thought that was weird – I guess he was expecting something more along the lines of “Boston Market” instead of the exact menu item.  But we went to BM – they serve so much food for $6.50.  I brought back half my chicken for the dogs.  They love me best.  I figure I have about 4 more days of eating out and then I’ll have my kitchen back – including my crock pot.  I know crock pot dinners can get old and start to blend, but when you’re really busy all day long and too tired to actually cook something come evening, they are a lifesaver.  Home cooked and tasty.  Speaking of all this stuff, has anyone tried to make our Beenie Weenie recipe using real beans instead of the canned and rinsed ones?  I was just wondering because the canned ones, after all that cooking, are pretty mushy and I thought it might be good to try beans from scratch for a firmer texture.  Comments welcome.

Enough of this rambling.  Everyone must be bored to tears by now.  I’ll leave you with this picture of innocence.

007.jpg

Oh, an this hotel uses Bath & Body Works lotion in the rooms.  Tonight I’ll be sampling the Coconut Lime flavor.  Hold on to your hats, it’s going to be wild out here!

Leave a Reply

