Recipe Review: Grilled Corn Salad

July 19, 2008 at 5:30 pm (Recipes, Uncategorized)

I realized that I need to get moving on sharing some of my new favorite summer recipes before summer is over. This one is hands down my favorite recipe, and Tom’s too. We used the recipe from Simply Recipes Blog, which is my favorite food blog. It’s a blog dad would appreciate – the author started so she could document all her family favorite recipes before her parents are gone. Her mom is Latin, so some of the recipes have a bit of that flair, which is oh, so tasty.  And both of her parents help with the cooking, the recipes, and ownership, so it’s really a family affair.  Basically, I’m a huge fan because I’ve tried numerous things and IT’S ALL GOOD. Especially the vegetable recipes – have you noticed how hard it is to find new ways of fixing veggies that doesn’t include some sort of fattening cream sauce? Which, don’t get me wrong, is good some of the time, but sometimes you just want an alternative to steaming that is quick, easy, and doesn’t require 18 bajillion ingredients.

Here is the link to the original recipe: Grilled Corn Salad. Mine looks like this:

I’m going to let you click on the above link and use the print button to print your own copy.  Much neater that way.  I’ll just detail the modifications I’ve made.

Add 1 can of rinsed and drained black beans, cooked shrimp and diced avocado.  I also double the cilantro because I like it.  I don’t add the hot peppers because I don’t cook with hot peppers.  Andrea understands.  Also, I use frozen corn and my cast iron skillet.  I love my skillet!  Love it.  You can get such a nice sear on things and I use it all the time because it gets so hot – it’s surprisingly effective at stir-frys.  Grilling the corn and zucchini in the skillet works really well, just don’t stir often so you can get the nice grill color and flavor.

Tom loves to put these in soft flour tortila shells, with or without salsa.  I eat it right out of the bowl.  It’s fast and really refreshing for those hot days.  In fact, this is our standard picnic food – I pack it up and take it with us to car cruises or shows, and it’s always better than the sad hamburgers someone is selling.

Try it – use what you have on hand and tweak it for your own tastes.  I’ve used yellow peppers instead of red, but then I realized with all the corn, you need some red color.  I’ve used lime juice instead of cider vinegar and it didn’t have enough zing.  I’ve added the shrimp right before eating, but I like it better mixed in earlier to develop some of the flavors.  I’ve had it hot, room temp and cold, and it’s good in all stages.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

