Opinion Time – I need your help

August 7, 2008 at 3:37 pm (Home furnishings, Uncategorized) ()

I’m purchasing slipcovers for the couch and chair in the living room. I have only a couple of criteria. First, it can’t be 100% cotton because that acts as a magnetic force field and sucks Spice fur from all parts of the house. Second, I don’t want stripes or plaids because the love seat is a little lumpy and if those stripes aren’t straight and even, it will drive me batty. And I would like something that isn’t terribly casual since it’s our front room.

This is the current version:

Ignore the ugly dog (and actually, this was taken last time she was trimmed so it’s a similar fugly look she’s sporting today), but this is the color we’re working with currently.  Putty colored cotton canvas.

This is what I’m thinking:

Love seat in Normandy Burgundy . I have a sample swatch and it’s an acceptable color burgundy. It’s dark but look fine in the room.

I’m thinking of pairing it with this chair, Scroll in Champagne:

I thought about this combination.  The below love seat, Scroll in Brown, with the below Normandy Champagne chair.  I have the swatch right now in Brown.

It’s a pretty large pattern.  If I went with this couch, I would go with this chair.

Then, lastly I found this couch, which is a geometric pattern, called Maxwell.  I haven’t decided on the color.  The “coffee” might be too brown, so maybe the Sable is a better option.

And the Sable one:

If I chose the Maxwell design (the above two), which chair would you chose from above?  This has been a difficult decision because there weren’t that many options that fit my criteria.  Thankfully, this isn’t a bank busting purchase, so if I don’t like it, I’m not stuck with it forever.  And I plan to accessorize with a couple of throws, maybe a blanket on the couch, if you think that would help.

So, what options do you like?  There were some chair options in a faux suede, but the only color that was going to work was taupe, and aside from it being nearly the same blah color I currently have, I think Andrea and I felt the room should have a little more punch.  If you are interested in exploring or want to see close up views of these patterns, I’m using the website Surefit.

Please leave your thoughts in the comments section or email me directly.  I appreciate your help.  I’ll probably purchase on Monday, so promptness would be helpful.  Thanks!

3 Comments

  1. onesmartcookie said,

    I really like the red. No, I REALLY like the red. Is there a slightly darker option than the champagne to go with it? Like the 4th picture down? The burgundy/champagne combo is nice, but it looks like your walls are pretty light so it might be nice to have a little bit of contrast on the chair.

    But hell, I’m certainly no design expert and I think all of the options are nice. So don’t take my opinion TOO seriously!

  2. gogofurniture said,

    Hi,
    I guess I’m a bit late to reply but still, here’s a great site that has a huge collection of slip covers:
    http://www.beforenafterslipcovers.com/

    Hope that helps…

  3. gogofurniture said,

    Hi,
    I guess I’m a bit late to reply but still, here’s a great site that has a huge collection of slip covers:
    http://www.beforenafterslipcovers.com/

    Hope that helps…

Leave a Reply

