Local Weather – is this the beginning??

September 3, 2008 at 11:54 am (Uncategorized)

Last weekend we had some really lovely weather for Andrea’s visit. I’m sure it was planned just for Andrea. I think Sunday was the hottest day when it was in the upper 80’s, but it was really windy. As usual. When we went to the figure-8 races at the car track, the nighttime weather was perfect, not too hot, not too cool. Then Andrea left and took the warm weather with her.

I woke late yesterday, Tuesday, and headed off to the barn around 8:30. It was really, really muggy and already over 80 degrees. Poor Chaps was already sweating when I took off his fly sheet. It was so humid that it it changed to rain while we were riding and it was refreshing having a slightly cooler breeze move through the arena, in addition to the lower humidity. But then the rain stopped and the humidity crept back up. It rained again when I got home and at this point, around noon, I let the hot dogs back in the house and turned on the a/c.

Watching the local news over dinner, I was flabbergasted to see the local temp at the bottom of the screen said 66. WTF?? I finished eating and went outside. Sure enough, the storm had pushed all the hot muggy air through and it was cold and crisp outside. So I opened up the whole house and in 40 minutes the inside of the house went from 75 degrees to 71. Wow.

Tom of course bitched and moaned that I was leaving windows open when we went to bed – even though I dug out the controls for the electric blanket and plugged in his precious. Which of course was plugged in backwards so in the middle of the night MY side was on fire and he’d tossed off all his blankets. Cold much?? But it was GLORIOUS waking up with the heavier weight of blankets and cold sheets. So what if I need a sweater, I love sleeping in the cold.

But the temperature in the house continues to fall. It was 68 degrees at 8:30 this morning and I just got up for a jacket and it’s 66. Hmm…at some point even I might crack and close some windows. I checked the weather and it’s not going to get over 70 degrees until September 12! Even then only 75! What happened to the hot weather?! I’m not ready for fall, I’m not, I’m not, I’m not! I like warmth. I want it to be 80 during the day and 60 at night. Pouting.

Can’t tell if Lola is cold or not. She’s sunning herself on the comfy patio furniture. But my fingertips are cold and my nose may or may not be a little red.

*UPDATE*  Four hours after posting this, at 2:30 p.m., I was freezing.  Shivering, huddled over my computer with the blanket curled around my face.  I really, really want to turn the heat on – 66 degrees it too cold for a house.  But I can’t figure out how it can be that cold – it’s just not computing.  But since my back is aching from the cold, I must do something.  So I put my blue robe on top of all my other clothes.  That has been helping.  I’m now able to sit up straight.  Now I need to bribe the heat dispensing poodle to sit on my lap.

1 Comment

  1. turinia said,

    You will actually save money on energy costs by keeping the climate steady in your house and using a/c or heat instead of opening and closing windows then turning on the a/c or heat. And then you’re hands won’t freeze.

Leave a Reply

