Recipe Review – A busy weekend and Chicken Themed

September 29, 2008 at 8:42 pm (Recipes) (, )

I tried three new recipes this weekend and I have a couple more this week.  Recently, a bunch were added to my favorite food blood, Simply Recipes, that use ingredients I’m trying to use up.  Additionally, I’m trying to eat very healthy in between family visits and these seemed like things that would be healthy, if not completely then in moderation. 

First recipe is Sweet and Sour Chicken.  This recipe uses a marinade for the chicken pieces consisting of cornstarch and egg white.  This really did help keep the chicken moist and smooth during the cooking process.  I used leftover pineapple spears from Sam’s Club and I made 1.5 times the sauce.  Also, Tom and I ate the whole thing for dinner, so I wouldn’t try to stretch it for more than 3 people unless you are serving something else.  I think this would be a good recipe for mom since you have control over the ingredients in the sauce.  I used my cast iron skillet and it worked beautifully.  I will definitely add this to my heavy rotation recipe file.

This next one is called Apple and Sausage Pie.  Now, if you make this for a guy, I strongly suggest you just call is Sausage Pie – the apple part just throws them.  All day Tom kept asking me how the apples came into play and in the end, he really liked it.  Even had it unprompted for lunch the next day. 

I wouldn’t consider this a low calorie dinner, but then I just ate a small piece to compensate.  It’s quite rich with all the cheese and sausage.   I suppose you could use a lower-fat version of the ricotta if you were concerned.  I can’t stand the smell of feta so I only added about 1/8 of a cup, so I wouldn’t be able to taste it.  Really, it’s not that unusual of a recipe – it has a base of a pie crust, and who doesn’t love pie crust.  Then comes sausage (you could probably use chicken sausage too), then a topping of the cheese mixture which isn’t totally unlike the filling in lasagna or manacotti.  Anyway, it was tasty but it’s not a quiche if that’s the direction you’re leaning. One of the longer recipes with a baking time of 40 minutes, but not too bad for a weekend when you fell like something a bit more rich.

Tonight we had Chicken with Mushroom Sage Sauce.  Andrea, stop reading here.  I chose this one to use up some mushrooms from Sam’s Club.  It was easy to put together and it has what I call Restaurant Flavors – stuff that I try in restaurants but rarely make at home.  It was quick and didn’t use many ingredients.  I think I had everything on hand except the wine.

Now, either I measured the sage wrong or it calls for way too much sage.  I did have fresh, and frankly, for the amount you need, or that I can tolerate, I’m going to used dried next time.  It calls for 3 TBS of chopped fresh sage.  I used three packed TBS.  Blech.  I was picking out sage during dinner.  Once I did that, it was fine.  So I recommend adding maybe, at most, 1 TBS of fresh sage and tasting it before adding more.  I liked the sauce well enough that I could potentially leave the sage out entirely.   Otherwise, it was a good meal.  I served it over egg noodles, but totally up to you.  Again though, Tom and I polished it off (I used less than 1 lb of chicken though).  And there wasn’t quite enough sauce, or maybe juuust enough, so consider making 1.5 times the sauce.  But this would make for a great low-carb option, if you like ‘shrooms. 

Later this week (with guest taster Samantha) we try Chicken Pasta Casserole, Garlic Chicken, and Winning Hearts Winning Minds Chocolate cake.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

