Shopping Report

October 16, 2008 at 6:45 pm (My Daily Life)

Let’s just get it right out there, my shopping stamina is about 2.5 hours.  I know, sad, isn’t it?  So the fact that I lasted FOUR hours was a huge deal.  I think it helped that I saved DSW for last, like the carrot at the end of the stick.

First priority was to find a cocktail dress for the dinner.  I was hoping that it would be easy, but hey, that never happens.  I started at Macy’s, but they only had one really ugly black dress.  I specifically didn’t want black – too boring and makes me look really pale, and this one wasn’t flattering.  So on to Nordstrom where I tried on a champagne colored dress that had these horizontal layered panel things.  Too hard to describe but anyway, the color wasn’t good for me and again it wasn’t flattering.  I was off to Bloomingdale’s hopeful that in their huge department I would find success.

Unfortunately, the petite section of that department was small, and then when you weed out the more casual dresses and the longer dresses, I had a very small selection.  And for whatever reason, the petite sizes that fit at Nordstrom were about 2 sizes too small at Bloomies so that was wasting my time.  I just didn’t find anything that was flattering, young-looking, or would work with my undergarments.  Becoming slightly desperate, I returned to Nordstrom to try on some of the separates I saw and discarded.

Back at Nordy’s I saw a red dress that I had initially dismissed because you all know how I try to avoid the primary colors; they aren’t the most sophisticated color choice on me.  But I figured I should at least try it on since I had nothing after several hours of trying.  As it turns out, once it was on it didn’t scream “Nancy-Reagan-Red”; the color was somehow cooler or something.  Anyway, after debating the fit for a few minutes, even consulting the sales girl (wearing elastic pants all the time can really screw with your perception of what actually fits), I decided to purchase this dress.

And, it doesn’t show off too much cleavage!  I could actually just wear a regular bra, but the corset thingy eliminates the need to suck things in.  I got a pair of peep-toe heels at DSW but they aren’t the best fit – a little sloppy – so if I see something better I would swap them.  I like this dress – it’s cute and the price was good, $168.  But if mom and I are out and see something better, I would try it on.

Next, let’s talk jeans for a minute.  I really wanted a new pair of jeans.  My favorite pair has turned against me in a tratorious manner and is not flattering the belly region anymore.  My other pair of jeans has sparkles sewn into the front, so not exactly an every-day pair.  And that’s it.  I’ve noticed that all of my jeans tend to be higher in the back and scoop lower in the front, the better to cradle the pooch and create a muffin-top.  And there isn’t anything to be done because the rise is small and they have to be tight enough to actually stay on.

I tried on jeans at Macy’s.  No good.  They didn’t have petite jeans at Bloomies, and the ones at Ann Taylor surprised me the most.  First, it’s the only thing in AT that isn’t vanity sized, so even though I was wearing a pair of AT jeans in the same size, there was no way the new ones were going to fit.  And I had the same problem with the low rise/scoop issue.

I decided to try on some of the jeans at Nordstrom because they had several brands.  Thankfully, the sales girl was younger than me and took pity on me when she realized I was shopping the Tummy-Tuck Mom Jeans and steered me toward their “premium” jeans.

I’ve always wondered about the premium jeans – I mean, really, are they that earth-shatteringly good?  Will they rock my world, make me look thinner, taller and get the raise?  Or is it all hype?  Unfortunately, these were good jeans.  I say unfortunately because even though I SAID several months ago I would be willing to pay premium prices, with the recent economic times and my fore-coming lack of employment, I was reconsidering this offer.  And these jeans were $158.  *Gack*

But!  But!  When I zipped these jeans up, it was like strapping into a decent bra – instantly I could feel that there was support!  And comfort without having to suck anything in, or smosh anything around!  I didn’t have to do the shimmy to get my underwear in place.  They felt snug over my hips and weren’t baggy through the butt.  And best of all, they buttoned just below the belly button, closer to my natural waist, so I  knew that since the front was nearly the same height at the back, there would be no unflattering stretching later to embrace and exhibit the pooch.  Damn it, I think these were going to work.

The gal said that they can stretch up to a half-size in between washings, and since I am wearing the smallest size anyway, she suggested that I wear them around the house for a while and if they stretch too much, take them back.  And I totally will for $158.  But I’ve been wearing them all day today, at the computer, on the couch and had a BURGER AND FRIES in them and they haven’t stretched yet.  And frankly, after that burger they could stand to give just a little.  I’ve rationalized the price as thus: I only wear one pair of jeans since 5 days of the week I’m in work clothes, and my jeans last me, on average, 3 years, so when you do that math, it’s not unreasonable.  When I broke the price to Tom, he commented that you pay for what you get, and I believe that adage to be 100% true when it comes to my bras so I think that applies here.

BTW: I played a game this morning with Tom and first tried on the traitorous muffin-top-inducing jeans, then the sparkly ones, then the new ones and asked him if they didn’t look “SIGNIFICANTLY” better.  I figured that for the price, if they didn’t make me look twice as good at the cheaper ones, I wasn’t going to keep them.  He said that they did look good and that they looked more “grown up”.  Which is true.  And that was before I told him the price.  Here they are:

Ok, so now I have jeans.  At this point my feet are killing me and I realized I have to STOP wearing those Cole Hann loafers, so at DSW, I bought a pair of Soffit loafers.  Ahh, comfy.  I had tried them on with Samantha and decided on some plainer ones, but once I was home and wearing those around, I decided they were too plain.  So now I have comfy shoes again, and I’ve been wearing them all day, so I think they are good.

And in case you curious about the Tummy-Tuck Jeans – the reason they can tuck everything in is because they button under your bra!  Seriously, I haven’t worn a pair of pans that buttoned 1 inch above my belly button in years.  Wow.  I couldn’t get past that par.

Leave a Reply

