Make this cake. Right now.

November 24, 2008 at 2:20 pm (Recipes, Uncategorized)

Oh, my lands. This cake is a new family favorite. Even if it’s just my little family. I urge you to make this cake as soon as you can. It’s not complicated, it doesn’t use exotic ingredients, it smells divine, and tastes delicious.

jewish-apple-cakeThis recipe comes from the Smitten Kitchen blog. I haven’t tried many recipes off this site, and they seem to be hit and miss. But this one looked promising in part because it uses oil in the cake batter, which I know produces a moist cake. And it uses apples and I’m always on the lookout for a good apple recipe.

Mom’s Apple Cake

6 apples, Mom uses McIntosh apples
1 tablespoon cinnamon
5 tablespoons sugar

2 3/4 cups flour, sifted
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup vegetable oil
2 cups sugar
1/4 cup orange juice
2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
4 eggs
1 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a tube pan. Peel, core and chop apples into chunks. Toss with cinnamon and sugar and set aside.

Stir together flour, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, orange juice, sugar and vanilla. Mix wet ingredients into the dry ones, then add eggs, one at a time. Scrape down the bowl to ensure all ingredients are incorporated.

Pour half of batter into prepared pan. Spread half of apples over it. Pour the remaining batter over the apples and arrange the remaining apples on top. Bake for about 1 1/2 hours, or until a tester comes out clean.

Ok, a few notes about the recipe.  First, she’s calling it “Mom’s Apple Cake” but the recipe is also known as “Jewish Apple Cake”, which is what I propose we call it to avoid confusion.  Secondly, you might be tempted, as I was, to mix the batter by hand, but resist that urge.  When you combine the dry and wet ingredients, it forms a very thick dough and is difficult to stir.  Much easier to whip out the old Kitchen Aid to incorporate those eggs, which makes the batter, while still thick, at least pourable.  Thirdly, I used a cooking apple called a Harrison.  I suggest using a sweet cooking apple and not a granny smith unless you absolutely LOVE tart apples.  Fourth, I think you need a tube pan.  As I was making this, I was wondering to myself if you could use a bundt pan, but as I watched it rise and rise and rise in the oven, I became convinced that you would need the taller, more spacious tube pan.  But don’t despair!  Tube pans are cheap and you can pick up one at Target or Walmart.  Totally worth it, even if you only use it for this cake.  And when it cooled later, it shrunk back down nicely.  Fifthly, mine took closer to 2 hours to bake.  Time intensive in the baking process, but it only took 15 minutes to throw together.

jewish-apple-cake-sliceSee, moist, filled with apples and yummy goodness.  I didn’t add powdered sugar to mine.  I didn’t think the cake needed any adornment, but if you dust the entire cake, the sugar is going to absorb into the moist top overnight.  Because it’s so moist, and because it makes a big cake, I froze half this morning.  I’m going to assume it will freeze well because of the oil.

jewish-apple-cake-topI served this with ice cream, but it really didn’t need it.  I needed the ice cream so it was all good.  I also ate it for breakfast the next morning.  Like a melt-in-your mouth fritter.  I have a feeling I’ve found a new favorite cake.  I hope you enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. romancingthestone said,

    amazing!

Leave a Reply

