New Duds

December 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm (Uncategorized)

I don’t have enough to do, apparently.  I have obsessed and agonized over clothing for Lola WAY too much.  Spent WAY too many hours looking at different options and cross referencing prices with other websites.  I forgot that she’s a DOG and doesn’t really care what she’s wearing.  She just needs something to keep her warm in our sub-zero temperatures and something to protect her against all the snow on the ground.

So, this is Lola’s new Winter Ensemble.  I’m starting from the outside and working my way down.

Lola’s new fleece coat.  I ordered a medium because I needed just a little more room than a small offered so I could layer heavier sweaters underneath it for extra protection.  Mom has kindly offered to hem the excess length.

I like the lighter pink side with the coordinating raspberry stripe down the back.  But – it’s reversible!  This side is solid raspberry.

You can see where I’ve folded the excess up and pinned it into place for the moment.  I do like that the larger size hangs a little lower on her body.  I think it will keep her warmer.

Speaking of adorable (adorable being the theme of this post)- check out those boots!!!  Can you believe how cute they are?  I have to say, I was sorely tempted to go with a pair I found that were pink and edged in faux fur, but these boots got better reviews because their design supports a more “upright”, natural position of the paw.  I needed a sturdy boot for a couple of reasons.  First, she needs the protection because she is too uncomfortable to spend the time needed to relieve herself if she’s not wearing boots.  Secondly, I needed a pair that was easier, faster, and more secure than the slide-on sock type booties.  And, these provide enough traction that she can navigate the carpeted stairs inside the house so our morning routine is more efficient.

Yes, that is a rubber sole, and a zipper and an extra velcro band.  She’s better already about letting me put them on and if I tug pretty hard, I can pull them off quickly when she comes back inside.

Lola also needed a new sweater.  Her current ones are pretty worn out.  I didn’t find a sweater that I liked, but I did find this sweatshirt that I think really captures Lola’s personality.

It’s a really pretty raspberry color and has a hood.  I’m not a big fan of hoods, but this is kind of cute.

I thought the hood might flop around and be a nuisance, but it doesn’t.  It’s just slightly too big however, because it covers her eyes and then Spice takes advantage and begins her attack, and Lola gets pissed and starts barking but can’t actually see Spice to defend herself.  I found it amusing, but that’s just me.

How bad-ass is this though?

Yep, skull, cross-bones, crowns and roses!!  It’s totally Lola.  Bad-ass and totally not intimidating.  Rough, but in pint-size form.  And pink, because it’s time she embraced her girly side.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the selection of Lola’s new wardrobe.  She got a bath and trim today and now is sparkly white (mostly) in her new clothes and ready to go kick some Labrador ass.

Leave a comment